Within the Institute of Geophysics there are 7 research groups carrying out research within ...
Research groups list

Atmospheric aerosol

Research Group Leaders: dr hab. Krzysztof Markowicz, dr Iwona S. Stachlewska

We conduct research on the direct impact of aerosols on climate system. Our research studies are based on observations and modeling of the short- and long-wave radiation transfer in the atmosphere. We study optical and microphysical properties of atmospheric aerosols based on in-situ measurements, active and passive remote sensing and numerical simulations.

Cloud dynamics and atmospheric turbulence

Research Group Leader: prof. dr hab. Szymon P. Malinowski

We study the dynamics of clouds in the full range of scales from the movement of individual droplets to flows in scale of clouds and cloud systems. We focus on the phenomenon of turbulence and (direct and indirect) influence of small- and moderate- scale turbulence in clouds and surrounding atmosphere on larger scale flows like weather patterns and even general circulation.

Microphysics of clouds

Research Group Leader: prof. dr hab. Hanna Pawłowska

We investigate the microphysics and dynamics of convective clouds in a wide range of spatial and temporal scales: from the detailed microphysics of individual aerosol and cloud droplets (activation, growth by condensation, and collision-coalescence), to the motion of the whole cloud. To answer our research questions, we develop and apply a Lagrangian Cloud Model, where the cloud-scale flow computed by Large-Eddy Simulations is coupled with a Lagrangian description of the cloud-particle microphysics.

Geodynamiki Ziemi i planet (en)

Research Group Leader: dr hab. Leszek Czechowski

Procesy dynamiczne we wnętrzu (w tym konwekcja w płaszczu) i na powierzchni Ziemi i innych ciał (w tym procesy sedymentacji i przepływu) niebieskich (en)

Komet lodowych

Research Group Leader: dr hab. Konrad Kossacki

Studying the properties of cometary ice cream and other planets and processes related to ice.


Research Group Leader: prof. dr hab. Marek Grad

seismology, mainly studying the structure of the crust and the upper mantle of the Earth


Research Group Leader: dr hab. Ryszard Buczyński



Research Group Leader: dr Piotr Wróbel

W naszej grupie zajmujemy się projektowaniem, modelowaniem, wytwarzaniem oraz charakteryzacją nonostruktur plazmonicznych, jak również rozwojem nowych technik wytwarzania oraz charakteryzacji tychże nanostruktur do zastosowań w szeroko pojętej fotonice, fotowoltaice, bioczujnikach i innych.

Materiały funkcjonalne

Research Group Leader: dr Tomasz Stefaniuk

Prace badawcze prowadzone w naszej grupie wiążą się z ideą nanostrukturyzowanych optycznych materiałów funkcjonalnych. Jest to klasa materiałów, których unikalne własności optyczne wynikają z procesu nanostrukturyzacji i wykraczają poza własności materiałowe użytych komponentów.