Remote Sensing Laboratory

Remote Sensing Laboratory

Remote Sensing Laboratory

Head of the laboratory:dr hab. Iwona S. Stachlewska
Serviceman:dr inż.Wojciech Kumala
Programmes: ATMO-ACCESS Trans-National-Access
Localisation:ul. Pasteura 5

The Remote Sensing Laboratory (RS-Lab) was created in 2013 to perform remote quasi-continuous measurements of optical and microphysical properties of atmospheric aerosols and clouds. The main goal to conduct such measurements at the Warsaw RS-Lab site is to assess the aerosol properties in the troposphere and lower stratosphere over this urban site. With time RS-Lab instrumentation started to support measurements at several different sites and to collaborate with several national and international institutions and private companies, this including the instrumentation exchange.

The RS-Lab has been equipped with different active and passive remote sensing instruments, among others: the stationary aerosol polarization Raman lidar (PollyNeXT since 2013), the near-range aerosol Raman lidar (NARLa since 2015), the mobile aerosol polarization Raman EMORAL lidar (Raymetrics/ESA since 2018), the Doppler wind lidar (HALO since 2021), the shadowband radiometer (MFR-7 since 2010), the microwave radiometer (HATPRO-G2/INOE since 2019), the sun-photometer (CIMEL/INOE since 2018), the hand-held sunphotometer (MICROTOPS since 2018), and the cloud radar (BASTA/LATMOS 2018-2020).

The stationary aerosol lidars are located on the ground in close vicinity of the Faculty of Physics building, on the measurement platform on the roof of the building (photometer, radiometers, wind lidar), and in the research van where one of the lidars and hand-held sunphotometers are permanently installed.

Some of the listed above instruments (EMORAL, BASTA, MFR-7) were temporarily installed at the PolWET station of the Poznan University of Life Sciences at peatland in Rzecin, Poland for long term POLIMOS campaigns (with intensive operation period during March-October 2018 and June-September 2019). During the first POLIMOS-2018 campaign, aerosol Eddy-covariance (Uni Granada) and Doppler wind lidar measurements (Uni Granada) were additionally conducted in Rzecin. During the second POLIMOS-2019 campaign, the microwave radiometer (INOE) joined the peatland site instead.

Currently, several instruments are under public procurement procedures: the cloud radar (for installation at Rzecin and Warsaw sites), the stationary lidar (for temporary installation at SolarAOT Strzyżów site and final installation at Polish ACTRIS/ICOS site), the solar/lunar photometer (for installation and Vilnius FTMC site and Warsaw RS-Lab site), and for installation at Warsaw RS-Lab site the supporting instruments: the AE-33 aethalometer and the polar nephelometer.

During the summer of 2018 and 2019, two 7-days lidar international intercomparison campaigns were conducted, during which the EMORAL, the PollyNeXT and the NARLa lidars were assessed for performance and data product quality against the EARLINET-ACTRIS reference lidars: POLIS (LMU) and RALi (INOE).

Research carried out at RS-Lab is financed primarily from the POLIMOS, SAMIRA and MULTIPLY projects of the European Space Agency and the European Commission H2020 grants: ACTRIS-PPP, ACTRIS-IMP, ATMO-ACCESS, and RI-URBANS. We have been also realizing several national grants of NCN (2 Preludium, 1 PRELIDIUM-BIS, DAINA (with FTMC in Lithuania). The RS-Lab operation is recognized as a strategical one of the Institute, being therefore strongly supported within the internal funding and administrative support at the Faculty of Physics and the University of Warsaw level.

The research is carried out in close cooperation with many research institutions TROPOS (Germany), INOE (Romania), NOA (Greece), University of Granada (Spain), LMU-MIM (Germany), LATMOS (France), University of Potsdam (Germany), AWI (Germany), FTMC (Lithuania), LOA (France), AGH (Poland), PULS (Poland), UŚ (Poland), as well as companies: Raymetrics S.A. (Greece), Licel GmbH (Germany), InnoLas (Germany). The collaboration terms are realized by joint instrument developments (e.g. TROPOS, Raymetrics, Licel), instrument loans (e.g. INOE, LATMOS, Uni Granada), collaboration on new data retrieval schemes and synergetic products (e.g. Uni Granada, NOA, AWI). The RS-Lab acts as a support partner in the development of the Polish ACTRIS Mobile Exploratory Platform comprising a combo of research vehicles and a hot-air balloon of the UKLA-UŚ (Poland). The RS-Lab is foreseen as one of the National Facility ACTRIS Observational Platforms, being also an official pilot site for the labelling process for ACTRIS Aerosol RS; the second component under development is ACTRIS Cloud RS.

The measurements carried out at the RS-Lab are used for scientific research conducted within the EARLINET, AERONET-NASA, PollyNET, and PolandAOD-NET networks. Currently, we are establishing our way towards the CLOUDNET network. Therefore the merit support of the colleagues running the networks and ACTRIS CARS/ARS and, as well as the merit and financial support provided within the frame of the EU funded H2020 projects is crucial for the long-term high-quality observation aspect of our work.

Contributors to RS-Lab:

Iwona S. Stachlewska (lead), Post Docs: Lucja Janicka, Dominika Szczepanik, Olga Zawadzka-Mańko, Pablo Ortiz-Amezcua, Dongxiang Wang, Christiana Olusegun, Ph.D. students at UW: Emeka Ugboma, Artur Tomczak, Afwan Hafiz, Maciej Karasewicz, and PhD students at PULS: Patryk Poczta, Kamila Harenda, M.Sc. students: Zuzanna Rykowska, technical support: Wojciech Kumala, Rafał Fortuna.

Research visitors: Alex Louridas (Raymetrics, Greece), Konstantina Nakoudi (AWI, Germany), Anca Nemuc (INOE, Romania), Julija Pauraite-Dudek (FTMC, Lithuania), Xiaoquan Song (OUC, China), Eleni Tetoni (NOA, Greece / DLR, Germany), Horatiu Stefanie (Uni Babeş-Bolyai, Romania), Rayonil Carneiro (NISR, Brazil), Christine Böckmann (UPP / AWI, Germany), Camilla Kassar (Uni Campina Grande, Brazil), Jesus Abril-Gago (Uni Granada).

Former colleagues: Michał Piądłowski, Paweł Swaczyna, Szymon Migacz, Artur Szkop, Paulina Sokół, Anna Górska, Anna Zielinska-Szkop, Montserrat Costa-Surós, Katarzyna Misiura, Aleksandra Lewczuk, Karolina Borek, Fatima Mirza-Montoro.

« Back