prof. dr hab. Hanna Pawłowska

Hanna Pawłowska  
Institute of Geophysics
Department of Atmospheric Physics
ul. Pasteura 5, room: B4.35
+48 22 55 32 035
  • Cloud microphysical processes.
  • Aerosol indirect effect on climate.
  • Precipitation foramtion and its effect o cloud radiative properties.
  • Effects of entrainment and mixing in convective clouds on cloud radiative properties
  • Modelling of cloud microphysical processes using novel up-to-date representation of cloud microphysics.
  • Participation in creation of an European Research Infrastructure EUFAR.

Stopnie i tytuły (en)


  • 2012 : Professor of Physical Sciences
  • 2000 : Habilitation in Physics of the Atmosphere, Institute of Geophysics, Polish Academy of Sciences
    Dissertation: Microphysical and radiative properties of stratocumulus clouds
  • 1991 : Ph.D in Physics of the Atmosphere, Institute of Geophysics, Polish Academy of Sciences
    Dissertation: On the role of precipitation parameterisation in maintenance of downdrafts in cumulonimbus clouds (in polish). 
    Supervisor: prof. Krzysztof Haman
  • 1982 : M.Sc. in Physics, Faculty of Physics, Unversity of Warsaw
    Dissertation: Thermodynamical properties of semi-magnetic semiconductors (in polish). 
    Supervisor: Tomasz Dietl



  • 2002 - present: professor, Institute of Geophysics, University of Warsaw
  • 1999-2000 : Laboratoire de Meteorologie Dynamique (LMD),  Paris, France
  • 1993-1998 : Centre National de Recherches Meteorologiques, Meteo-France, Toulouse, France
  • 1992-2002 : associate professor, Institute of Geophysics, University of Warsaw
  • 1982-1992 : research assistant, Institute of Geophysics, University of Warsaw


Scholarships and scientific stays abroad

  • 2005 - present: National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR), Boulder, Colorado, short visits
  • 1992 : Deutsche Forschungsanstalt fuer Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany, 3-months fellowship


Pełnione funkcje (en)

  • 2005-2016 : Director of the Institute of Geophysics
  • 2002-2003 : Vice-dean in the Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw


Członkostwo w komitetach i organizacjach (en)

  • 2016-2020 : Chair of the Scientific Council at the Institute of Geophysics
  • 2016-2019 : Expert of the Polish Accreditation Committee
  • 2013-2018 : Chair of the Programme Board of the Scientific Station of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Paris
  • 2012-2016 : Member of the University's Budget and finance Commission
  • 2008-2012 : International Commission on Clouds and Precipitation (http://www.iccp-iamas.org)
  • 2008-2013 : International Scientific Advisory Board at the Max Planck Institute for Meteorology in Hamburg
  • 2005-2009 : Scientific Steering Committee of ACCENT (6. FP NoE) ‘Access to Infrastructure’ activity
  • 2005-2008 : ESF Scientific Advisory Committee of EUFAR (6. FP)
  • 2002 - present : Member of the Budget Commission at the Faculty of Physics, University of Warsaw
  • 2002/2003, 2004 - 2016: Scientific Council of the Faculty of Physics,  University of Warsaw
  • 1993, 2000 - present: Member of the Scientific Council in the Institute of Geophysics


Research project

Research & Development Project

Research & Organizational Project

Field Experiment